The LARP society (LARPSOC) comprises scientists from many disciplines with a shared interest in the study of La-motif containing proteins such as genuine La and La-related proteins (LARPs).
Since their initial characterization, LARPs have been shown to function in the metabolism of a wide spectrum of non-coding and coding RNAs, several of which have been implicated in challenges to human health.
More recently, the study of the La-related proteins has expanded on the known functions of La-motif containing proteins in many eukaryotic species.
The aims of LARPSOC are both to promote research into La-motif containing proteins and to provide a discussion forum, in the form of a website and meetings held biennially, around this fascinating area of discovery.

The officers (elected at AGM Sept 2018)

President: Sasi CONTE; King’s College, London, UK.
Vice-President: Andrea BERMAN; University of Pittsburgh,USA.
Honorary Treasurer: Sarah BLAGDEN; University of Oxford.
Honorary Secretary: Mark BAYFIELD; York University, Canada.
Social Media representatives: Sandy MATJISSEN (NICHD, USA) and Faraz MARDAKHEH (Barts Cancer Institute, UK)
Postdoc representative: James CHETTLE (University of Oxford. UK) 

PhD student representatives: Hiba AL-ASHTAL (University of Pittsburgh, USA) and Kyra KERKHOFS (York University, Canada)
Past Presidents: Utz FISCHER (University of Würzburg, Germany) and Rich MARAIA (NICHD, USA).
Honorary members: Jack KEENE (Duke University, USA) and Nahum SONENBERG (McGill University, Canada)



  • To promote the highest standards of research into La-domain containing proteins
  • To promote the exchange of information in all aspects of research into   La-domain containing proteins
  • To provide support and education to junior researchers in the field

To download the constitution Please click here

To request further information about the Society please email us.